About Us

The AVS was founded in 2001 as a charitable, educational, and scientific society to promote the field of vascular and endovascular surgery and to enhance the ability to provide vascular care and serve disparate populations.

On behalf of the Alabama Vascular Society (AVS) we would like to invite you to our Annual Meeting held in various locations throughout Alabama.  Please click here check our Annual Meeting page for event details.

Executive Council

leadership banner
Beck, Adam, MD, Surgeon, Vascular, UAB

Adam Beck, MD


Associate Professor/Division Director of Vascular Surgery and Endovascular Therapy at the University of Alabama at Birmingham (UAB)

Benjamin Pearce, MD

Past President, AVS Annual Meeting Program Director

Associate Professor, Director, Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency & Fellowship Programs at University of Alabama (UAB)

Graeme McFarland, MD

Decatur, GA

Surgical Associates of North Alabama

Marc Passman, MD

Birmingham, AL

Professor, Vascular Surgery & Endovascular Therapy, Department of Surgery, UAB

Mark Patterson, MD

Birmingham, AL

Associate Professor, Chief of Vascular Surgery with a Focus in Lower Extremity Occlusive Disease, Arterial Aneurysms

Melanie Rose, MD

Melanie Rose, MD

Council Member

Emily Spangler, MD, MS

Birmingham, AL

Vascular Surgeon, UAB, Birmingham VA Medical Center, Clinical Outcomes Researcher

Danielle Sutzko, MD, MS

Birmingham, AL

Assistant Professor, Associate Program Director, Vascular Surgery Integrated Residency, UAB